ITAR Compliance for the Aerospace Industry


The International Traffic in Arms Regulations (ITAR) is a set of regulations established by the US Department of State to control the export and import of defense-related articles and services. The aerospace industry is a significant contributor to the US economy and is subject to the ITAR regulations due to its involvement in the production of defense-related equipment. In this article, we will discuss ITAR compliance in the aerospace industry, including the types of equipment subject to ITAR regulations and the export classification system.

Types of Equipment Subject to ITAR Regulations in Aerospace Industry

The aerospace industry encompasses a wide range of equipment, from commercial airplanes to military helicopters and missiles. The following are some of the types of equipment that are subject to ITAR regulations in the aerospace industry:

  1. Military Aircraft: Military aircraft, including bombers, fighter planes, and transport planes, are subject to ITAR regulations due to their use in defense-related applications.
  2. Missiles: Missiles, including cruise missiles and ballistic missiles, are also subject to ITAR regulations due to their military applications.
  3. Satellites: Satellites used for military purposes are subject to ITAR regulations. This includes communication, reconnaissance, and weather satellites.
  4. Drones: Drones are increasingly used for military applications, and as a result, they are subject to ITAR regulations.
  5. Parts and Components: Parts and components used in the manufacture of defense-related equipment are also subject to ITAR regulations. This includes avionics, engines, and other critical components.

Export Classification System

The ITAR regulations divide defense-related articles and services into various categories, each with its own set of controls and requirements. The categories are based on the type of equipment and its level of sensitivity. The following are the five categories of the ITAR regulations:

  1. Category I – Firearms, Close Assault Weapons, and Combat Shotguns
  2. Category II – Guns and Armament
  3. Category III – Ammunition and Ordnance
  4. Category IV – Launch Vehicles, Guided Missiles, Ballistic Missiles, Rockets, Torpedoes, Bombs, and Mines
  5. Category V – Explosives and Energetic Materials, Propellants, Incendiary Agents, and Their Constituents

Each category is further divided into subcategories, and each subcategory has a corresponding export control classification number (ECCN). The ECCN identifies the specific controls and licensing requirements for a given item.

ITAR Compliance in Aerospace Industry

To ensure ITAR compliance in the aerospace industry, companies must follow strict export control regulations, including the following:

  1. Proper Classification: Companies must properly classify their products and technology under the ITAR regulations to ensure compliance with export control laws.
  2. Licensing Requirements: Companies must obtain the necessary licenses and approvals for the export of ITAR-controlled items.
  3. Record Keeping: Companies must maintain detailed records of all ITAR-controlled items, including their classification and licensing status.
  4. Employee Training: Companies must provide training to their employees on ITAR regulations and the proper handling of ITAR-controlled items.
  5. Compliance Review: Companies must conduct regular compliance reviews to ensure that their policies and procedures are up to date and that they are meeting all ITAR compliance requirements.


The aerospace industry is subject to ITAR regulations due to the sensitive nature of their products and services. Compliance with ITAR regulations is critical, and companies must follow strict export control regulations, including proper classification of items, obtaining necessary licenses, maintaining detailed records, providing employee training, and conducting compliance reviews. The five categories of the ITAR regulations and their corresponding export control classification numbers (ECCN) help to identify controls and licensing requirements for defense-related articles and services. To avoid costly penalties and damage to their reputation, companies in the aerospace industry must remain vigilant in their efforts to achieve ITAR compliance and stay up to date with changes in regulations and requirements.

Share in Social Media

case studies

See More Case Studies

microsoft 365 GCC High

What is GCC High?

Microsoft 365 Government Community Cloud (GCC) High is a specialized cloud solution tailored for U.S. federal, state, local, tribal, and territorial government organizations, as well as for contractors who hold or process data subject to specific security regulations. In this article, we will explore the features, benefits, and differences between Microsoft 365 GCC High and other Office 365 offerings.

Learn more
Contact us

Partner with Us for Compliance & Protection

We’re happy to answer any questions you may have and help you determine which of our services best fit your needs.

Your benefits:
What happens next?

Schedule an initial meeting


Arrange a discovery and assessment call


Tailor a proposal and solution

How can we help you?